Washington Electrical Licensing – Important WAC Updates on License Renewal
By: Ashley Berfield | Nov 19, 2019
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries will adopt the 2020 National Electrical Code. The code adoptions will become effective in Washington on July 1, 2020. On August 23, 2019 there were important updates made to the WAC related to license renewal. In this post two important WAC Updates are covered. Visit this page to read more in-depth or to review other WAC updates.
Fines for performing work with an invalid or nonexistent license
1. Offering to perform, submitting a bid for, advertising, installing or maintaining cables, conductors or equipment:
a. That convey or utilize electrical current without having a valid electrical contractor’s license; or
b. Used for information generation, processing, or transporting of signals optically or electronically in telecommunications systems without having a valid telecommunications contractor’s license.
Penalty for unlicensed electrical contracting work will start at $1000 for a first offense. The second and third offense will carry penalties of $2,000 and $3,000 respectively. After the third time offenders can expect to pay $10,000. The penalties have no increased in over 30 years.
Additionally, this section of the WAC outlines the penalties for individuals that employee workers who do not hold a valid electrical license to do RCW work. Those fines start at $250 for a first offense and jump to $500 for a second offense. Each violation thereafter will cost $500.
Fines and penalties for (3) Performing electrical work without having a valid certificate of competency or electrical training certificate will cost you $50 for your first offense and $100-$500 for each offense thereafter.
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries will suspend or revoke your electrical license
Section 296-46B-990(d) of the WAC states that the board will suspend or revoke your electrical license if the licensee or certificate holder incompletely or inaccurately reported continuing or basic trainee class education units on an application for renewal.
JADE Learning offers courses approved by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries. Courses cover the RCW/WAC and the National Electrical Code. Electricians are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education every 3 years.